The global phenomenon of sharing….

I have recently made the decision to include sharing buttons at the end of each new post. It has been a hard decision to make, but i felt it was necessary to continue this and making it easier to get out to the people who want to be got out to. Let me explain why it has been a difficult decision:

I’m not a fan of facebook, i have always been a little bit dubious about it, and especially now over the past year it had really taken hold and that’s something which i want back. Free time. As a child i could get by without the internet no problem, it was a luxury. Nowadays it seems to be a necessity, what with it now being a right to have access to the internet, and the fact that so much is done on it now, job applications, events, general keeping in contact with people. It has become the next level of communication. With that came advertisements, but i’ll leave that for now, don’t want to stray to far from my point. Getting back to the facebook point, I admire those who have easy access to it, but choose not to use it, they may also have a profile, which is empty. Good on them, good on you, you’ve done what i could not, and managed to keep you life normal and you can do what you want without this overshadowing dark mass. I wish i could do that, i try but i fail.

I don’t like the way we are now bombarded by people sharing things that they like (no one really cares what you are doing, they just want to see things, and then make themselves known, everyone only cares about themselves online), and the fact that there seems to be a facebook like/share button on all the websites with high traffic, as if prompting you to do so, and to be ‘social.’ I think i can decide for myself thanks, if i want to copy and paste the url then I will, i’m not so lazy that all i can only be bothered to click a little button. It really annoys me. And this is one of the reasons i’ve regretted adding it into my own blog, i’m being very hippo-critical.

There are some people who are really terrible with making websites, even when they are given a simple template to fill, (like in wordpress) they fail to get house colour schemes correct, and just generally seem to have no idea how to make a page look neat and good, (you’ll see them from time to time, and usually they post blogs about what an amazing time they have had doing something somewhere). I’m not saying mine isn’t like that, i’m not a webpage designer, but i’ve tried to make it have some form of continuity. At the end of some blog posts i’ve seen there has been every single kind of share button activated at the bottom, which just looks a complete mess, and no one wants to see that. I don’t want to be one of those people.

Sharing

I’ve seen worse, this is just a quick example of too many buttons.

Funnily enough as i’ve reached the end of this post, i think i’ve changed my mind, i’ve persuaded myself against doing what i’ve already done. By having it here i am going against everything i’ve just said, and why should i do that just because i want to find people, people can get by without it. So if your reading this, then there won’t be any share buttons at the bottom, it is not hard to copy and paste the url, if you really want to. The majority of people don’t anyway so there seems to be no point whatsoever in including these, unless i can be persuaded otherwise?

One thought on “The global phenomenon of sharing….

  1. I think you’re right, most people barely read other people’s posts in my opinion. Too few comments on most the blogs and there are some really food ones. Don’t bother yourself with the extra work. On another note, I love the name of your blog. I agree!

Leave a Comment

