The Sound of Clouds…

There we go, a nice catchy title to fool you all into thinking this could be an interesting bit on what clouds sound like. Well here we go, err, I don’t know what they sound like. What were you expecting? No what this is really about is Soundcloud, of course though if you recognised the logo then you already knew that. This is the website where people upload their ‘sounds’ and that seems to be about it really.

Now you may be thinking that I’m obviously writing this because Soundcloud have asked me to and so I can advertise them. I can one hundred percent ensure you, that there is no way that’s true. For one, why on earth would they come to me of all people, on a blog that gets minimal traffic, and someone who would write in the blog about how there is no way it would be conceivable that they would have asked me to do this. Wait I’ve really confused myself there, it’s like a paradox. On!

Gobbledegook

I Soundcloud tracks…what?

I joined Soundcloud not that long ago, thought, ‘hey, I like music, let’s try out something other than YouTube.’ Because the thing with YouTube, see here I am damning YouTube so they haven’t asked me to write this (let’s get over this, no one has asked me to write this, I am doing it on my own whim) …done? Yes. The thing with YouTube is that music people uploaded either has a boring video which is a bore and doesn’t compliment the music, or it is just a black screen, which doesn’t work on a video sharing site. So Soundcloud is better because it is just music, or rather ‘sounds’ as they call them, which you can have in the background. This works pretty well, makes life a bit more simple.

But I’ve found that it just seems to be just like all these other social networking sites, people trying to make others care about them. This kind of relates back to the name of this blog page thing. They only want others to listen to their own music, and it seems at any cost. Already I have had 2 people start following me and I haven’t uploaded anything! They are clearly just following me so I will get a little notification and they hope I will follow them back and listen to their music. Which also, kind of works, I listen to one song maybe and see if I like it, more often than not I will just listen to 30 seconds and think, ‘shit,’ and move on. Yeah maybe that’s being unfair, but well life’s not fair.

Annoyingly i don’t have time to upload anything there because I’m deep into exams, why you ask? Well have a look in the About section. But it’s pretty obvious anyway, probably the first thing that popped into your head. Yeah so all I’ve been doing on Soundcloud has been looking around. And it doesn’t really seem that well laid out, and when I say laid out I mean, structured. It’s difficult to straight away dive in and try to find the kind of music you want to.

Professionals have it easy

It’s clearly a struggle for musicians with limited funds to get anywhere on it, using  a microphone on their phone to perhaps record guitar and vocals doesn’t come off as overly professional, but could have just as much skill as someone who has used professional software and professional kit to produce, mix and master their track. I for one prefer to hear the more garagy sounds anyway, maybe I need to join some other site called http://www.soundcloudbutmoregaragydemolikestuffthatilike.co.uk or whatever.

If you are interested, and this is shameful, but a friend of mine, who records using not much at all has a profile, has a Soundcloud profile, go and add some plays to some of his tracks, I will be forever grateful. Click here. That’ll do…

Leave a Comment

